The Light Newsletter

Golf Road Cleanup
Meet at TJ Max Parking Lot (Golf & East Prairie)
Jul 08, 2023
8:30 AM - 10:00 AM
Club Service
RI cafeteria
Jul 12, 2023
8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Club Service Committee - Zoom
Jul 12, 2023
8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Club Service Meeting
Jul 12, 2023
8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Club Service Committee - Zoom
Aug 09, 2023
8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Club Service Meeting
Aug 09, 2023
8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
View entire list
Advertisement for Russell Hampton
Advertisement for ClubRunner
Advertisement for ClubRunner Mobile

The Light for June 27, 2023 

 By Lesley Peters

Create Hope in the World - 38th Annual Leadership Installation, held at The Residences of Sherman Plaza, Evanston
President Kathy Tate-Bradish welcomed all attendees at 4:30 p.m. She shared our Statement of Purpose – Why We Are Rotarians.
Clarence Weaver shared his Thought for the Day.  He spoke about his friendship with our new President, Bryant Wallace, their ties to one another, and how much their friendship means to him. He knows how important long-standing friendships are, and the value of them for all of us.
President’s Reflections
Kathy shared her sentiments about the past year, the accomplishments of our club, and what she considered two essential ingredients for being President of our Club: grace and humor. As we all know, Kathy is the epitome of grace and humor.
She believes we have accomplished many things – particularly in DEI, Club Service, Community Service, and Housing to name just a few.

Honoring our Charter Members.

Kathy continued our program with the introduction of two of our charter members and former presidents of our Club: Paul Brown and Bob Teska.

Bob came to our gathering straight from his cardiac rehab program. Paul spoke about the pride he has in his daughter, Kristin Brown, who has also been President of our Club.

Paul and Bob shared highlights of their experiences, and what the importance is of the Club. Each one told us how special Rotary had been for them, and what they wanted to see in the future. We gave them a rousing standing ovation for their years of commitment and efforts.

Rotarian of the Year -
Aimee Resnick
Aimee Resnick is a student from Englewood, Colo.who has finished her first year at Northwestern University.  She is also a proud member of our Club, and our new Public Image Committee Chair, 2023- 2024. She has been involved in our club on many levels and has a long history of philanthropy and helping others. We are thrilled to have her as a member of our Club and look forward to a long and happy partnership with her.
Remarks – Thor Davidson, District Governor Nominee
Thor Davidson will be our District Governor for the 2024-2025 Rotary year. He is a member of the Rotary Club of Wheaton. He shared some of his background with us (a graduate of Luther College), and some of his experiences in Rotary. He mentioned that our club is special, and he is impressed with our projects and successes.
He gave our two founding members, Paul Brown and Bob Teska, special pins for their 37 years of service, as well as installing all our officers and directors for the coming year, who are listed at the end of this newsletter.
Other former presidents who attended the Installation were gathered together to be congratulated by our club:  Bruce Baumberger, Kristin Brown, Linda Gerber, Steve Goranson, Don Gwinn, Chris Joyce, Ann Searles, and Kathy Tate-Bradish.
Presentation of the Gavel. Kathy gave her heartfelt thanks to our club members and passed the Gavel to our new President, Bryant Wallace.
Remarks from the 2023-2024 Leadership Team – Bryant Wallace.
Bryant shared his excitement with us about the next year. He believes we have a momentous year coming up and is looking forward to on-going as well as new projects. He believes our members have much to offer, and looks forward to collaborating with them, as well as the other members of our Club.
The Four-Way Test. Our evening ended with the Four-Way Test, and we adjourned to several restaurants for dinner in Evanston.


Visiting Rotarians
Angela Walker  -  Rotary Club of North       Chicago
Jackie McGuire – Rotary Club of Wilmette    Harbor

Evanston Lighthouse Rotary 2023-2024 Leadership Team

President                        Bryant Wallace
President-Elect              Jose Lopez
Immediate Past
  President                     Kathy-Tate Bradish
Career Service Chair     Neil Gambow
Club Service Chair        Joan Borg
Club Treasurer              Kate Collinson
Community Service
  Chair                           Brien Johnson
DEI Chair                      Clarence Weaver
Environmental Action
   Chair                          Steve Goranson
Individual Giving
   Chair                          John Osterland
International Service
  Chair                           Jose Lopez
Membership Chair        Jackie Mack
Program Chair              Dan Coyne
Public Image Chair      Aimee Resnick
Rotary Foundation
  Chair                           Helen Oloroso
Sergeant-at-Arms        Nick Powers
Secretary                      Linda Gerber
Technology Chair         Jeff Snyder
Young Leaders Chair    Keith Banks
Youth Exchange
  Officer                        Jackie Mack
Please add to your safe sender list or address book.
To view our privacy policy, click here.
102-2060 Winston Park Drive, Oakville, ON, L6H 5R7